Saturday, September 6, 2008

Look Out IFL! I Am Going to Run the A-11 Offense Tomorrow

Here is my new offense making its debut in the IFL tomorrow.
11 players eligible to get the ball! It's known as the A-11 offense and developed in Piedmont, California. With two potential quarterbacks and up to 10 eligible receivers, this offense dramatically increases the number of options available. According to Scientific American, you have 36 options for who receives the snap and who receives the ball using a standard formation. Using the A-11, there are over 36,000 options!

Here is a preview of what you are up against...



Good luck, IFL!

10 comments:

kkdither said...

ha ha ha... you expect us to be afraid of that "girly team" you have scheduled to play tomorrow?

OrbsCorbs said...

I'm using the E=mc² Techno-Mix Offense tomorrow, and here's a preview for you: Orbs' Obliterators

drewzepmeister said...

Oh crap...now I'm in trouble. LOL

OrbsCorbs said...

You're in trouble? I can't even get my avatar uploaded....

Anonymous said...
This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.
Anonymous said...

(After reading my original post and 2 footnotes, it got a little wordy so I re-wrote it...sorry).

Sorry, but the A-11 doesn't work as it is advertised. It is only strength is on a pass. First off, the A-11 can only be used in a scrimmage kick (punt) formation. One offensive player must be at least 7 yards behind the line of scrimmage. Even though there is an exemption to the player numbering rule (i.e on scrimmage plays 5 linemen must be numbered between 50 and 79 which are ineligible numbers), there still must be at least 7 men on the line of scrimmage. The 5 interior (LT LG C RG RT) regardless of their numbers in the A-11 are still ineligible receivers. Furthermore the 5 interior may not shift off the line. The 5 interior do not have to go into a three point stance to be set, they can stand and be set. However, once set, they cannot move until the snap. Any movement would be a false start foul. If they were to go down field for a pass, that would be a foul for ineligible down field. Also, if an ineligible lineman were to catch a pass before it is touched by the defense, that would be illegal touching which would result in a 5 yard penalty plus loss of down.

The A-11 utilizes a spread formation, but that does not change the eligibility rules. In the example the HB posted, even though the tackles as spread out from the guards, they are still "interior" linemen because they are covered by the ends. Since they are grouped with the slotback and split end, the whole idea is to sucker the defense into thinking they are eligible receivers. The extreme weakness in this type of formation is the gap between the tackles and guards. Regardless how far they are out the tackles still cannot move back in once they are set (false start). Since you have no more eligible receivers in this formation than you do in any other, the key to the defense is realizing that the wide out tackles are still ineligible and not wasting a linebacker or D back on them.

The only thing the A-11 does is to confuse the defense on who is eligible. As a flinger of the flag in the umpire position, I would be eyeballing the center and the two on both sides. If they move after being set or go down field on a pass, either way it would cost you 5 yards. And if they caught the pass before it is touched by the defense, it would also cost a down. Depending where you are playing, some conferences and associations have made the A-11 an illegal formation.

The A-11 doesn't offer any more opportunities than any other formation. The only thing the A-11 does is to confuse the defense on who is eligible. It is basically a mind game being played in a special formation with a rule exception.

hale-bopp said...

You are no fun, Ref Logjam!

Anonymous said...

Sorry, but rules is rules. Furthermore, once the interior lineman take their initial position, they remain ineligible throughout the down. Lets say the split end went in motion by vacating his position and comes up to the line in the gap. Now the tackle is on the end. Does that make him eligible? No. The tackle is still ineligible, and now the end is also in eligible. Besides, a man in motion cannot go towards the line. You could either have a dead ball false start or live ball illegal procedure; both 5 yards. There is no shift or motion that can make an ineligible player eligible.
I mentioned earlier, the idea of the A-11 is to confuse the defense on who is eligible. But IMHAPO*, it is really meant to confuse the officials into missing a call.

*AP=and professional

SER said...

This is a short film strip of the Tator Heads Canon Play....

“Tator Heads Canon Play and what it does to its opponents”

kkdither said...

I am NOT one of the boys... thank goodness. I am not, however, a cream puff... :>
My Strategy