Tuesday, June 29, 2021

Milwaukee-area school districts react to reintroduced bill requiring cursive to be taught in schools

From JSOnline:
Alec Johnson
Milwaukee Journal Sentinel

State legislators have reintroduced a bill originally introduced in 2019 requiring cursive in schools to be taught. 

State Rep. Jeremy Thiesfeldt and state Sen. Joan Ballweg, along with senators Alberta Darling, Stephen Nass, Howard Marklein, Lena Taylor and Van Wanggaard, reintroduced the bill, which is similar to AB 459. That bill passed the state Assembly in 2019 before stalling in the state Senate during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Co-sponsoring the bill are state representatives David Armstrong, Rachel Cabral-Guevara, Barbara Dittrich, James Edming, Gae Magnafici, Clint Moses, David Murphy, Jeffrey Mursau, Donna Rozar, Ron Tusler, Michael Schraa and Daniel Knodl.

If passed, the bill would require that cursive writing be incorporated into the state's model academic standards for English language arts. Specifically, it would require elementary students to be able to write legibly in cursive by the end of fifth grade.

Read more: https://www.jsonline.com/story/communities/2021/06/25/area-school-districts-react-proposed-state-bill-requiring-cursive/5313662001/

No comments: